Getting Married in Kentucky
What do you need to know?
- Marriage licenses are issued in the County Clerk’s office in each county.
- Both bride and groom must appear together.
- The license is valid for 30 days from the date of issuance and the license fee is non-refundable.
- The license must be used within the State of Kentucky.
- You must be 18 years of age to be married in Kentucky without parental consent.
- Applicants 16 and 17 years old must have parental consent and the license issued in the county of residence of the under aged applicant.
- If both applicants are under age, the application needs to be made in the bride’s county of residence.
- No one under 16 may be issued a license unless they are pregnant and have a District Court Judge issue a court order directing the Clerk to do so.
- No waiting period or blood test if required prior to issuance of a marriage license.
- The bride and groom complete the application.
- Information needed (from both bride and groom) to complete the application includes:
- Name and address
- Date of birth and age
- Place of birth (If in Kentucky give county, in another state give only the state)
- Father’s name
- Mothers’ first and maiden name
- Current states of bride and groom (Single, divorced, Annulled, Widowed)
- Number of previous marriages of bride and groom
- Occupations of bride and groom
- Race of bride and groom
- Whether bride and groom are related (First and second cousins are not permitted to marry in Kentucky)
- Date of marriage
License requirements are as follows:
For the Male: Under 18 years old, must have parental consent along with a copy of your original birth certificate.
For the Female: Same as the Male except she needs to be a Resident of Laurel County if she is under 18, even with Parental Consent.
The License is issued the same day it is applied for.
Licenses are good for 30 days, and must be used in the State of Kentucky.
Kentucky Revised Statutes Chapter 402